The Hold Steady: Roundhouse – October 8th, 2008

Posted: February 17, 2023 in 2008, The Hold Steady, The Roundhouse
Tags: , ,

Why?

This was peak Boys and Girls. If ever the band had momentum in the UK, and looked like they’d get bigger than they did, it was this Roundhouse show.

But the show didn’t happen in October – it got postponed to December because Tad was ill with what we all assumed was something alcohol related.

I’d just met my future wife (we started dating maybe two months beforehand) and I’d also lost my job. And I went to this with one of my oldest friends from school, and the friend who was also the manager who’d had to deal with making me redundant.

(Life lesson: you probably don’t want to treat a job as a chance to be conspicuously hammered in the office for the handful of hours that you show up, and you definitely don’t want to use one of your rabble-rousing speeches to your assembled colleagues to suggest that most of their leaders are too old to be properly in touch with the culture they claim to work with…)

This was kind of a pivotal time in my life – I just didn’t know it then.

Nor did I know, as we boozily sang along to every word, quite how on the money the lyrics to You Can Make Him Like You would turn out to be.

High: Hell yeah, and with the added buzz of my two friends from different parts of my life getting along like they’d known each other for years.

Drinking: before, during and after.

Thinking: Tad looks way, way healthier…

Leave a comment