Bloc Party: The Forum – March 4th, 2005

Posted: April 27, 2017 in 2005, bloc party, Kentish Town Forum

Bloc Party new

Why:

I think this was their high point.

I don’t know if it’s tragic or cool to have been turned onto a band by reading reviews of their singles in NME, but I’d had the singles of Little Thoughts and Helicopter.

And file sharing had given me the other early songs.

And I’d seen them before, but this was their first big headline on their first big tour and it was good to be they guy insisting that we went.

I thought Kele was a proper rock star. He was beautiful.

I remember standing there soaking it in. This was one of those shows when it feels as if a band are ascending.

That the songs that you and the other “fans” know are being taken on by everyone.

That the guys on the stage are all playing for their lives (oh that drumming…..!)

That you can keep drinking – because people keep bringing you drinks – and that it’s white light euphoria and not confusion coming on.

I still have no idea what Helicopter’s all about, but hey – it came on the radio the other day and so much memory came back with it.

High: Helicopter.

Drinking: Oh yes.

Thinking: I am hoping for a miracle right now, Kele. Really I am.

Leave a Reply

