Sophia: Electric Ballroom – March 30th, 2004

Posted: April 25, 2017 in 2004, Electric Ballroom, Sophia

sophia

Why?

This was a strange and confusing time for me.

This show was five days before I quit drinking for a while.

I’d been telling people I was going to do it since the end of 2003.

It was the only way I thought I could make sure it happened – to know that other people would think less of me if I didn’t.

I thought it was odd that no one else was telling me to do it, because I thought I was saving my life.

The first I knew of Sophia was when someone I knew started playing with them.

For a while he was also playing in a weekly pop quiz team in a pub in Finsbury Park.

The rest of the team included Robin from Sophia, Adam from Swervedriver and a couple of well known music journalists.

Then there was me. So I knew some of Sophia.

Here’s what you’d never know about then from listening to the records. They were one of the loudest bands you’d ever see.

And that’s what I remember about this show.

I thought the PA was going to blow.

High? If a Change is Going to Come.

Drinking? Soaked. Absolutely drenched in it.

Thinking? How to do this sober. 

Reviews are here

Leave a Reply

